Sep 25, Renaissance Vlad rated it it was amazing A simple and clear approach to understand the Four Noble Truths. May 26, Laura rated it it was amazing Great little booklet and terrific at introducing Buddhist ideas. Will definitely re-read this one! Jun 10, Britt rated it really liked it Very good.

Author:Tegrel Nijinn
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):11 June 2010
PDF File Size:7.7 Mb
ePub File Size:19.37 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Zen Buddhism Expert B. One way to understand the concept is to view the Truths as hypotheses, and Buddhism as the process of verifying those hypotheses, or realizing the truth of the Truths. The Four Noble Truths A common, sloppy rendering of the Truths tells us that life is suffering; suffering is caused by greed; suffering ends when we stop being greedy; the way to do that is to follow something called the Eightfold Path. However, if you take the time to appreciate what the Four Noble Truths are really about, everything else about Buddhism will be much clearer.

Ajahn Sumedho, a Theravadin monk and scholar, the word actually means "incapable of satisfying" or "not able to bear or withstand anything. Even something precious and enjoyable is dukkha because it will end. Further, the Buddha was not saying that everything about life is relentlessly awful. In other sermons, he spoke of many types of happiness, such as the happiness of family life.

But as we look more closely at dukkha, we see that it touches everything in our lives, including good fortune and happy times. Among other things, the Buddha taught that the skandhas are dukkha.

The skandhas are the components of a living human being: form, senses, ideas, predilections, and consciousness. In other words, the animated body you identify as yourself is dukkha because it is impermanent and it will eventually perish.

But no matter how successful we are, we never remain satisfied. The Second Truth is not telling us that we must give up everything we love to find happiness. The Buddha taught that this thirst grows from ignorance of the self. We go through life grabbing one thing after another to get a sense of security about ourselves. We attach not only to physical things but also to ideas and opinions about ourselves and the world around us. Buddhist practice brings about a radical change in perspective.

Our tendency to divide the universe into "me" and "everything else" fades away. The first truth tells us what the illness is and the second truth tells us what causes the illness. The Third Noble Truth holds out hope for a cure. The solution to dukkha is to stop clinging and attaching.

But how do we do that? The fact is that it cannot be accomplished by an act of will. The Second Noble Truth tells us that we cling to things we believe will make us happy or keep us safe.

It is only when we see this for ourselves that we can stop grasping. When we do see it, the letting go is easy. The craving will seem to disappear of its own accord. The Buddha taught that through diligent practice, we can put an end to craving. Ending the hamster wheel-chase after satisfaction is enlightenment bodhi, "awakened". The enlightened being exists in a state called nirvana.

The majority of these were about the Fourth Truth: the path magga. Unlike in many other religions, Buddhism has no particular benefit to merely believing in a doctrine. Instead, the emphasis is on living the doctrine and walking the path. It ranges from study to ethical conduct to what you do for a living to moment-to-moment mindfulness.

Every action of body, speech, and mind are addressed by the path. Without the path, the first three Truths would just be a theory. Fully appreciating what the Truths mean takes years. In fact, in some schools of Buddhism, thorough understanding of the Four Noble Truths defines enlightenment itself.


The Four Noble Truths

Jan 14, Malsha rated it it was amazing A book that should be read and re-read often. A reminder to practice mindfulness. If interested, it can be downloaded for free. May 11, Sudipto Chowdhury rated it really liked it This book is a great book The way the book is written that one will feel as if the master is talking to them individually Very well put together with the basics and fundamentals of Buddhism This book is not to be just read but to be used as a tool for realisation of truth


What Are the Four Noble Truths of Buddhism?

He ordained as a bhikkhu Buddhist monk in May the following year. In , he helped to establish and became the first abbot of the International Forest Monastery, Wat Pa Nanachat in northeast Thailand founded by Ajahn Chah for training his non-Thai students. After observing a keen interest in Buddhism among Westerners, Ajahn Chah encouraged Ajahn Sumedho to remain in England for the purpose of establishing a branch monastery in the UK. Ajahn Sumedho was granted authority to ordain others as monks shortly after he established Cittaviveka Forest Monastery. He then established a ten precept ordination lineage for women, " Siladhara ".


Ajahn Sumedho


Related Articles